Friday, May 15, 2009

Recent Local Announcements

2009-2010 Creative Renewal Arts Fellows Announced:
The Arts Council of Indianapolis  announced the newest round of fellowship recipients last Friday at an opening reception and exhibition of works by the 2007-2008 awardees at the Indianapolis Art Center. Each year 40 recipients are awarded in the areas of Dance, Literature, Music, Theater, Visual Art, and Arts Administration. Awards are made available by a special grant made available by the Lilly Endowment Inc. Below are the newly announced Creative Renewal Arts Fellows in the Visual Art and Art Administration categories only. Congratulations to all this years recipients.

Visual Art

John Domont
Vance Farrow, Jr.
Scott Grow
Gayla Hodson
Wug Laku
Michal Lile
Kipp Normand
Emma Overman
Amy Rheinhardt
Ginny Taylor Rosner
James Anders Sholly
Carolyn Springer
Nhat Tran
Carol M. White

Arts Administration
Rebecca Hutton, Theatre of Inclusion
David Kwasigroh, Indianapolis Art Center
Jaq Nigg, Eiteljorg Museum
Amy McKune, Eiteljorg Museum
Ellen H. Munds, Storytelling Arts of Indiana
William Simmons, InterAction Theatre
Jeffrey L. Sparks, Heartland Truly Moving Pictures
Christopher West, Indianapolis Museum of Contemporary Art

Installation Nation Artists Announced:
Installation Nation, Primary Colours latest project bring art to the public, has announced the selected artists from their call for entries. The following artists will be creating and exhibiting installations in large metal shipping containers downtown June 5th and 6th. Be sure to mark your calendars. Congrats to all the artists selected. 

  • Kathryn Armstrong & Jill Marie Mason (Indianapolis)
  • Michele Bosak (Grand Rapids, MI)
  • Julie Cifuentes & Brent Aldrich (Indianapolis)
  • Jeff Martin (Indianapolis)
  • Lori Miles (Indianapolis)
  • Derek Parker & Jason Chakravarty (Bloomington, Plainfield)
  • Brian Priest (Indianapolis)
  • Debbie Rosenfeld & Jonny Roller (Columbus, OH)
  • Scott Scarboro (New Albany, IN)
  • Jeff Schmuki (Lafayette, IN via Gulfport, MS)

Cultural Tourism Award Announced:
The 2009 Efroymson Award for Excellence in Cultural Tourism Development was announced yesterday during the annual Indiana Cultural Tourism Conference hosted by IU Department of Tourism, Conventions, and Event Management. Out of 18 assorted proposals, this years  $25,000 award goes to the Indianapolis Theater Fringe Festival. Congratulations. 

0 Responses to “Recent Local Announcements”

All Rights Reserved | Blogger Template by Bloggermint